OMO ÈLÈ (ALAYÉ)

If you ever get on Celebrity Takes 2
I swear I’d text my last my last
in a barrage to three-zero-triple three
one-three-two or any other 5 or
3-digit short code designed to swell
calculating bank accounts;
ohun tó bá wùn wón ni k’ón so
.
And if anyone act or fan ever just ever
slights your star shining quite obviously
blindingly high I’d rampage and machete
for you; gbà bí mo şe só yen.
Ìyáláyàá bàbá anybody.
And even if I scrounge daily for upkeep
I’d buy every last one of your records
and I’d push and shove and climb if push
ever comes to shove just to get a good view
of you when you come to town to play around. And
if I miss one show one show I’ll scrounge around
again to buy a VCD DVD whatever to watch at home or
at worst I’d stand statuesque with others
for hours roadside to watch a vendor’s broadcast.

I love you
with the devotion of a Fuji fan.

GLOSSARY
omo èlè – Yoruba slang for pretty lady
alayé – Yoruba slang for friend; may also be used in another sense in a belligerent fashion
ohun tó bá wùn wón ni k’ón so – “whatever anyone likes let him say” popularized by Fuji musician Pasuma.
gbà bí mo şe só yen – “take it as I say it”
Ìyáláyàá bàbá anybody –slang expressing irreverence; translates literally as “the grandmother of anybody’s father

4 thoughts on “OMO ÈLÈ (ALAYÉ)

Have your say

